Golf with Many Spectators

After two weeks and 5 days in Blantyre, Kate and I thought it would be a good idea to get some use out of our 5th checked bag, my golf clubs.  We had a driver pick us up at 10:30 on Saturday and take us to the Blantyre Sports Club, complete with a pool, restaurant, soccer field, tennis and squash courts, and of course a nine-hole golf course.  The course was in very good shape with well kept greens and decent fairways, much like the blue course at Haines Point in DC.

The weather was perfect, and I played alone, with Kate as a spectator and fan, and Den, our caddy for the day.  On the seventh tee box, Kate and Den were standing about half way down the fairway and I am standing over the bowl about the tee off.   Right before I take my backswing, Kate says, very calmly, “Sandy” and points behind me.    I turn around and there is a monkey, about three feet tall, standing less than 5 feet from me…  Scared me to death!  I jumped 16 feet in the air and shouted a startled expletive. He was close enough that I could have hit him with my backswing. ..

I look over to the woods, and see that there are about 15 monkeys hanging out nearby.     I don’t know how I didn’t notice them earlier.  Kate said the one monkey bounded out of the trees and right up to the tee box as if he was going to evaluate my swing or track my drive.   Kate came back to the tee box to get some pictures, but unfortunately the monkey went back into the woods before she could get a good picture of him.   I guess he saw her coming and decided that she could be the one to track my ball after I hit it.   I got a double bogey on that hole, but I blame it on the distraction.  I’m sure the monkeys were unimpressed as there was no clapping from the gallery.

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Golf with Many Spectators

  1. Susan Carter

    Any excuse is a good excuse. Monkey on!

  2. BB

    Why were we ever worried about you two heading off to Africa? Guess we didn’t know about the good life. As a quick aside, the best golf that John B. Carter, Jr. ever played was in the Philippines. The monkeys would run out and grab the golf balls out of the fairway, and the caddies would miraculously find them in the perfect spot for the next shot. With that and muligans, he could have gone to the PGA.

  3. 2frugalfoodies

    Very cool story…and so glad you got some use out of your 5th bag…I’m sure that won’t be the last time… !

  4. Barb

    I guess you could call it golfing monkey business. Sorry you didn’t get any pictures of your little fan.

  5. Jenny

    I want to see more monkey pictures! Liz and I missed you this weekend! We need to make a skype date soon.

  6. Ginny

    What a funny twist to your golf day! Only in Africa!

  7. Robin

    too fun, Sandy… glad it’s not all work and no play! Missing you! xo

  8. Chelsea

    That is definitely a spectator(s) that you wouldn’t get while golfing in DC. Sounds awesome!

  9. Pingback: Mumbo Island – Paradise in Lake Malawi | Muli Bwanji Y'all!

Leave a Reply

