Ty Pennington Would be Proud

While I have loved almost everything about our new home, there is one thing that I have not liked… the red wall in the living room/dining room.  While it seems to be a popular color for homes here, it’s just not me.  It’s too dark and too… red.  So, Sandy’s company very graciously bought us paint and even offered to paint it.  As I am home most days alone, I was excited to have a project and decided to paint it myself.  They brought Sandy a color wheel and asked him to pick a color.  With the help of his colleagues, he picked a bright turquoise blue called “ocean jewel.”  It was a bit of a departure from the Carolina blue I would have picked, but it’s absolutely perfect and I love it!  It’s very fresh and tropical.

In one day, I completed the job with two coats of paint and Sandy did the parts close to the ceiling where I couldn’t reach.  Now, finally, the room is finished!  I also used some old curtains as slip covers for the chairs and loveseats, and put pictures up on the wall above the TV.  It’s much brighter and much more like home!

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Ty Pennington Would be Proud

  1. JAN

    I AM SOOOO PROUD OF YOU! IT LOOKS GREAT. LOVING YOUR BLOGS

  2. 2frugalfoodies

    wow! love the color. great job! where did you find a SC blanket in malawi? Robin will be proud.

  3. Jeff

    NICE! Let’s all chant together “Ocean Jewel, Ocean Jewel, Ocean Jewel!”.

    Where exactly do your guests “find themselves”? Can you add a picture of that?

  4. Susan

    WOW A painter in the family!! No, TWO!!! Love it

  5. Kennedy

    I knew SC was a popular state!!

  6. Barb

    It certainly DID brighten it up!!!! It does look much fresher and clean – you are becoming a lady of many talents…….painting and nsima……or is it nisma??? My spell check did not recognize either……

  7. Michelle

    Love the new color and slip covers 🙂 Looks very homey.

  8. Jose Alvarado

    I am finally caught up with your blogs and feel like you should have a reality show, not sure of the name yet but it will come soon. Keep the posts coming, they really make my day. Glad to hear that everything is going well.

  9. Robin

    You NEED to feel at home! So pretty! I love the blue, too…. xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

