Catching Up

Apologies for having completely disappeared for a month!  I think a big part of it is that after 2 + years here, the things that used to stand out and warrant a post now seem so common place – we’re so Malawian that we can kill mosquitoes with one hand, expertly navigate fuel queues, and handle water cuts and power outages as part of our routine.   I’m just not as surprised anymore when I see a monkey riding on top of a truck in the middle of town, or witness thunderstorms so violent they shake the house, or when it takes three months to get help replacing the rotten, molding ceiling tiles that we’ve been complaining about.

Life has moved along at a quick pace – discussions of the current political situation are common place, but it is just as common for Malawians to be well versed enough in American politics to ask specific questions about the election and Newt “Gingalich”.  We continue the process of making new friends and saying goodbye to old ones, a constant and emotional cycle.  I often feel like the father in My Big Fat Greek Wedding, tearily saying, “why does everyone want to leave me?”

We were excited when the local fast food place decided to start delivering pizza.  I’m still not sure how they do it, as no one really has an address here – it’s just “go past the Wanella BP and take the first dirt road on your left and go past the green gate until you see four dogs and then take your 6th right and we’re the red gate (it’s actually more rust-colored) on your left just past the fence made of reeds – you can’t miss it.  Then honk three times so we know you’re there.”

The other big news is that there is a sugar shortage.  This is big news for two reasons.  One, sugar is a major cash crop in Malawi – Malawi produces so much sugar, there should never be a shortage!  And two, in Malawi, sugar is the bottom level of the food group pyramid.  (Sugar and salt, really, major parts of the Malawi diet – and despite this they all have beautiful teeth.)  Most of my colleagues drink their tea with an average of six heaping spoonfuls of sugar.  I always watch this process with fascination, expecting the sugar to spill over the edge of the cup after soaking up all the tea.  (Although I can’t talk – the Folgers Instant Mocha Chocolate Cappuccino drink mix I have every morning definitely has more sugar than that.)  People are queuing for sugar and there are limits on how much you can buy when it is in stores.  I was very excited when the nice check-out lady at Shoprite let me buy six bags instead of the allotted five.  There are rumors that the sugar is being sold abroad for much needed Forex.  But if Malawians didn’t protest at the lack of fuel, or lack of soft drinks, you have to think a sugar shortage will drive people over the edge!

I’ve also been busy writing articles for local publications and was recently published in The Eye, Be My Guest, and the Air Malawi in-flight magazine, Ulendo.  The previous post on Gertrude Benham was in the latest edition of The Eye.  I think she was amazing – and I love that Nyasaland (Malawi) was a major stop on her journey.  She was so calm and casual about the threat of lions and leopards – I guess she hadn’t seen The Ghost and the Darkness.

We have been trying to make the most of our last few months in Malawi, enjoying time with friends, starting to wrap up work, and figuring out what’s next.  We have also had some amazing weekends away at tea estates, Zomba, and the lake.  While it’s hard to think about leaving Malawi – time is going so quickly – we are definitely relishing the time we have left!

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Catching Up

  1. Susie Carter

    The sugar post made me laugh — while you were in the States for Christmas, you commented that all our food is so sweet!! So full of sugar! I guess our sugar is more incidious than 6 tablespoons of sugar in Tea. We love your posts. Please give us MANY in your remaining time in beloved Malawi.

  2. Anonymous

    Hi Kate,

    I’m sure you get a bunch of these but I’m going to be in Malawi in July. I was just wondering if I could email you regarding places to volunteer (if you know of some). I was originally going to be just passing through but I figured may as well stay for a while and see Malawi. Love your blog; I hope you both enjoy the remainder of your time there!!

    Best,
    Adrianne

    • Agape Earth Angels Care Center could probably use volunteers. What is your area of expertise? Teaching English? Agriculture? Health care? Recreation? Let me know if you are interested in more information.

  3. Anonymous

    I’m going to miss these posts when this adventure is over for you. I hope that you will figure out some new way to keep me entertained. I have not missed a single post and although I do not reply often enough this has been thoroughly enjoyable. There has been a certain amount of vicarious living through your experiences. Thank you. Love to you both, Edwin

  4. Barb

    I think you have not only had some amazing get away weekends the last several months – YOU two have had amazing trips it seems every weekend since you have been there!!! Am thinking, stateside might seem a little boring to you both – BUT we will be so glad to have you safely HOME! Your trips always amaze us and the special beauty you have found everywhere. All good things MUST come to an end and we welcome you home soon to our very boring world here……..you will be surrounded with love!!!!!

  5. Thank you so much for your comments! Being home will be wonderful and exciting and I’m looking forward to it… I even had a dream last night that I was at Arby’s!

  6. Liz Kiss

    Kate, I love the the Folgers Instant Mocha Chocolate Cappuccino reference 🙂
    xoxo

  7. Few travellers on a Mashobra tour can resist the temptation of seeking blessings at the Mahasu Devta Temple.
    So even at young ages and relatively low levels of the sport,
    goalies will have their helmets designed
    with various colors, prints and patterns, shapes or designs, and more.
    ”. With an average annual fee of 10,000 pounds, representing between 25% – 36% of professional incomes this has risen assiduously by
    41% in the last five years. An analysis this change will give us insight into the supposed benefits they entail. For an in depth guide to the E8400 chip, I highly recommend reading this article: Final Thoughts on the Intel E8400. We actually become happier people. The so-called colloidal silver “blue man,” Paul Karason, was back on the Today show this week. The players have to buy the weapons to use from the available shops and weapon stores. When you set out to influence another’s feelings for you, are you not interfering with that person’s free will.

  8. Rather,all the applications keep running in the background
    although in a low power state,utilizing both processing power
    and memory that leads to a lower battery life. An alternate
    electrical power source reduces the probability that the access technique
    will turn out to be inoperable via strength reduction and aid
    conserve battery lifestyle. While the older 17
    inch Mac – Book Pros lack the benefits of the unibody design, they do have the added feature of user-replaceable batteries.

  9. Great post. I used to be checking continuously this weblog and I am impressed!

    Extremely helpful information specifically the ultimate part 🙂 I care for such info
    a lot. I was looking for this certain info for a very long
    time. Thanks and good luck.

Leave a Reply

